I want babies!

This is a slightly misleading title, but does bring us to the arguably the most important aspect of the Perfekt Story (and no, it is not a song title in this year’s Eurovision).

The perfect story of course, needs to be told, and what better way than for it to be a saga passed on through generations of your own offspring.  As well as that, you are meeting the key aim of successful existence in an evolutionary sense on Earth by living on passed your own life has passed.  And, when you are back in the UK and playing happy families with little (mainly) adorable toddle-tots, a little part of you knows you could make little babies yourself and have your own sweet family to stick on the wall.

And I want that, I’ve wanted to have that for years now and make no reason to go against that idea for myself, I still want to have children and would seek much happiness from a nuclear family.  Maybe not yet, I certainly feel my lifestyle at the moment is about me and isn’t selfless enough to be able to lead by the demands of a screaming baby, but as soon as that changes I would love to settle down and start really becoming productive.

There’s obviously never going to be perfect parenting, we have to compromise somewhere between our resourcefulness as providers as well as the learning we can give elsewhere, as well as at the same time ensuring we are good citizens and leave behind a beautiful world and planet they can also thrive in.  Family and friends I firmly believe should be a vital part of this puzzle, and I think it’s something that was missed out of my childhood which probably goes someway to explain some of my more insular tendencies.

My family never had any friends, at least local to our family, and my family was also rather small and isolated.  My parents never took the chance to relax and not spend enjoyable time away from us, and I never knew anything outside my local surroundings.  It was sad, and I think always made it difficult for me to fit in as well as the other children at school and in the street, my only experiences were those really local to me, we never took public transport or things too that would widen this approach.

However, I have managed to get to where I am today which is very lucky and also to look back on the past and know where I would improve, which is always important.  On the other hand, in starting again and trying to make me more well-rounded, would we lose some of the other parts that make me unique and are positives – such as the big-thinking ideas this blo aims to make you ponder.

Anyway, I sidetrack from the point I want to make here.  I woke up recently one morning thinking about the issues we have now with our evolutionary wishes.  Large families, are simply unsustainable however beautiful they may be.  And it is sad but I don’t think I can stress enough how much of a concern this is for our human society that our biggest issues as we approach the 22nd and 23rd Centuries are not going to be global warming, or mass killer viruses, or even overpopulation per se, but our lack of natural resource.

Rare elements and minerals are prized by technological companies the world over for their properties, and are vital to the workings of so much that optimises the 21st Century.  I foresee a time when man will scrounge the dumps and tips of the future looking for old computer parts for their extortionate value.

Oddly for a scientist, and a science teacher, I am a pessimist to scientific discovery in the next 100 years.  Most of the powers we can obtain from the world around us I believe, such as electricity, such as harnessing the powers of atoms, has gone as far as it can, and although I dream that fusion power will work, the more I consider it the more I lose hope.  Our energy prices should be going through the roof, they have been criminally low for so long because our governments have allowed our countries to take their chance economically in the good times to get themselves into pole position, but that medium-term thinking will leave us with a long term problem.

Our thirst to measure countries by their economic output makes it perfectly sensible for countries like Sweden to make their welfare state model even stronger in the area of parentage, as a way of encouraging more home births to fill the jobs they expect for the future.  The demands these people have on the world though are going to be greater yet hard to reach, our globe will get smaller not bigger as £10 Ryanair flights disappear from existence as fuels of all types, renewable or not take too much energy and money to produce.  And with more people, that’s going to be an even greater effect.  China has huge cultural and political implications, some foreseen some not from the infamous One Child Policy.  I praise their courage and leadership in a state despite the obvious mistakes that were made, and I hope our United Nations can make this as key as climate change to address with agreement from all parties to help.

And it comes back to that time in my life, and many of our lives, when we try for a baby.  And a family.  And from our worldwide perspective now we need a place where every child matters.  Every child we have should be able to lead and to love and be an asset to the world, the pursuit of understanding of our universe and hence ultimately to humanity as a whole.  As a prospective mother or father, please do not have children if you don’t believe that is going to be the case.  We need to be selective and be cleverer than our instincts to consume all around us, and there is a lump in my throat in saying this.

There is no way to know and no way to predict and making a human life or not a number’s game is horrible, but our rock 150 million km away from the Sun and 150 million square km of land is not sufficient.

This is the green politics all parties need to be considering.

Leave a Reply

